With a rich history we are proud of our contributions to the progress and achievements in the field of deaf education.
Dr William Roe founded our school in 1894. After witnessing a young deaf man being bullied and called "dumb Jack" he was struck by the social and educational exclusion of deaf people. Dr Roe set out on a world wide tour to raise awareness and funds.
On his return, with the help of a group of like minded philanthropists, the school was established. Charitable status was conferred by the only legal form available for charities at the time, Royal Charter. A gift from Queen Victoria in celebration of her diamond jubilee.
In 2019 Sudbury Museum of Childhood joined the School’s extended 125th birthday celebrations with an exhibition narrating the experiences of deaf children since the School was established to the present day. Outstanding financial health continues to support celebrations of our cultural capital and we are privileged to welcome the Deaf community on campus to meet with children and young people. Each time they visit stories unfold, experiences are shared and what we see makes us humbler, braver, bolder and more ambitious for the futures of all deaf children and young people.